Wind Turbines​
0 MW
Avg Homes Powered Per Year​
Started Operating

Community Enhancement Fund

The Mount Emerald Wind Farm Community Fund is designed to share the financial benefits of the wind farm with not-for-profit groups, associations, clubs or individuals that make a positive difference to the local community.

RATCH-Australia donates over $200,000 every year of the wind farm’s working life into a fund to support local projects and initiatives. The contribution is adjusted for inflation using the Consumer Price Index (CPI) to ensure a meaningful sum is available to support good local causes for as long as the wind farm is generating clean energy.

Since 2019, the Mount Emerald Community Fund has provided over $1 million in grants to more than 130 local organisations and individuals across the Atherton Tablelands.

Applications are accepted all year round and reviewed twice a year (post 31 January and 31 July) by a committee comprising local volunteers.

Please review the eligibility guidelines below before applying. In addition to meeting the objectives of the fund, not-for-profit community organisations or individuals must be located within a 50km radius of the Mount Emerald Wind Farm (or within 40km radius of the Windy Hill Wind Farm) to be eligible for a grant from the fund.


Download the guidelines for applicants below.

For guidance on your application please email

How applications are considered

Once the 31 January or 31 July deadline has been reached, applications are collated, checked and passed to the Advisory Committee for their consideration and recommendations. All applicants are advised in writing of the committee’s decision.

The volunteer committee is chaired by Magistrate Tom Braes, and assisted by three other dedicated local community members. The wind farm site manager Paul McDonald represents RAC on the committee.


Community Consultative Commitee

The Community Consultative Committee was formed in 2016 and ran until 2020 to provide a forum for open discussion between RAC and the community on issues directly relating to the construction and operation of the wind farm, of its environmental performance and community relations.

The committee was chaired by Professor Steve Turton and included the following voluntary community representatives:

Mareeba Chamber of Commerce
Atherton Chamber of Commerce
Canegrowers – Tablelands
Oaky Creek
Channel Road
Tablelands Wind Action Group

Sam Musumeci
Don Lennox
Browyn Dwyer
John Hardy
Dave Reynolds
Ross Iraci
Jim Carey
John Parmenter
Steve Lavis


RAC is committed to being a good neighbour and thanks the many volunteers who take part in CCCs for their time and civic commitment. CCC’s and other similar community bodies help RAC to be responsive to emerging or unplanned issues as they arise, and are important in helping us keep the local community informed and involved during the planning, delivery and operations of energy infrastructure.